If you have been charged with trespass on school grounds, then you may have a defense. “Lack of intent” is a defense that is usually successful in trespass on school grounds cases. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about how to beat your trespass case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
In Florida, trespass on school grounds is defined under Florida Statute 810.097. A person commits a trespass on school grounds if they enter or remain on a school campus or school-owned facility and they do not have legitimate business on the campus or any authorization, license or invitation to be on the property; or if they are a student currently under suspension or expulsion.
In Florida, trespass on school grounds is a second-degree misdemeanor, meaning it is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, or by up to 6 months of probation and/or by a fine of up to $500 (you can also get a jail sentence followed by probation, but the total length of the punishment cannot exceed 6 months). In addition to facing jail time, if you are adjudicated guilty of trespass on school grounds then you will have to deal with a number of collateral consequences.
Criminal convictions carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record. Even misdemeanor convictions can have negative consequences for you. If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for you and keep you from getting caught in the system, or if someone you know has been charged with trespass on school grounds in Florida, then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.