If you have been charged with sexual battery on a victim under 12 by a Defendant over 18 years of age, then you may have a defense. False accusation is a defense that is oftentimes successful when fighting sexual battery cases involving child victims. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about false accusations, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your sexual battery case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Sexual battery in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 794.011. A person commits the crime of sexual battery on a victim under 12 when they have non-consensual oral, anal, or vaginal contact with another person using their sexual organ or an object, and at the time of the offense the victim was 12 years of age or younger and the Defendant was 18 years of age or older.
Sexual battery on a victim under 12 years old by a Defendant over 18 is a capital felony, meaning you will be sentenced to mandatory life in prison if you are convicted. Criminal convictions, especially convictions for sexual battery, carry severe consequences. If you are convicted of sexual battery you will be required to register as a sexual offender or predator, you will face mandatory life in prison time and you will not be eligible for any sort of gain time, parole or early release.
If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with sexual battery in Florida, then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.