If you have been charged with sexual battery then you may have a defense. Consent and false accusation are defenses that are oftentimes successful when fighting sexual battery cases. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about consent and false accusations, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your sexual battery case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Sexual battery in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 794.011. A person commits the crime of sexual battery when they have non-consensual oral, anal, or vaginal contact with another person using their sexual organ or an object.
Sexual battery is a second-degree felony, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 15 years in prison, or up to 15 years on probation and up to $10,000 in fines (you can also be sentenced to a jail or prison sentence followed by probation but the total length of the sentence cannot exceed 15 years).
Criminal convictions, especially convictions for sexual battery, carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record. If you are convicted of sexual battery you will be required to register as a sexual offender or predator, you will face mandatory prison time and will not be eligible for any sort of gain time during your prison sentence. You will also lose your right to vote, your right to own firearms, and your ability to maintain certain business licenses. You can also lose your ability to receive financial aid, your ability to live in certain places and your ability to obtain a passport.
If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with sexual battery in Florida, then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.