If you have been charged with possession of alcohol by a minor in Florida, then you may have a defense. Constructive possession and temporary possession are both defenses that are oftentimes successful when fighting a possession of alcohol by a minor case in Florida. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you don’t have a defense Attorney Williams will probably be able to get your case dismissed after completion of a diversion program. If you want to know more about constructive possession, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your possession of alcohol by a minor case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Possession of alcohol by a minor in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 562.111. A person commits the crime of possession of alcohol by a minor when they possess an alcoholic beverage while under the age of 21.
Possession of alcohol by a minor is a second-degree misdemeanor the first time you get caught, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 60 days in jail, or up to 6 months on probation and you can received up to $500 in fines. If you get caught again then the charge is enhanced to a first-degree misdemeanor, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 1 year in jail, or up to 1 year on probation and be required to pay up to $1,000 in fines.
Criminal convictions carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record, even if the conviction was for a simple charge like possession of alcohol by a minor. If you are found guilty of possession of alcohol by a minor then the DMV will suspend your license from 6 – 12 months for the first offense. The DMV will also be required to revoke your driver’s license for two years on your second conviction.
If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with possession of alcohol by a minor in Florida, then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.