If you have been charged with leaving a child alone in a car, then you may have a defense. Proving the child was not left alone for more than 15 minutes is a defense that is oftentimes successful when fighting a leaving a child alone in a car case. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about the 15-minute defense, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your leaving a child alone in a car case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Leaving a child alone in a car in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 316.6135. A person commits the crime of leaving a child alone in a car when they leave a child in a car unattended or unsupervised for longer than 15 minutes or for any period of time that results in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to a child (It is not illegal to leave a child in the car for less than 15 minutes of the car is not running and the child health is not in danger).
Leaving a child alone in a car is a first-degree misdemeanor, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 1 year in jail, or up to 1 year on probation and up to $1,000 in fines (you can also be sentenced to a jail or prison sentence followed by probation but the total length of the sentence cannot exceed 1 year).
Criminal convictions, especially for crimes with child victims, carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record. If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with leaving a child in a car in Florida then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.