If you have been charged with disorderly intoxication in Florida, then you may have a defense. Being on private property and arguing that your conduct was simply a minor nuisance are both defenses that are oftentimes successful when fighting a disorderly intoxication case. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about the minor nuisance defense, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your disorderly intoxication case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Disorderly intoxication in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 856.011. A person commits the crime of disorderly intoxication when they endanger the safety of another person or property, or cause a disturbance in public, while intoxicated.
Disorderly intoxication is a second-degree misdemeanor, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 60 days in jail, or up to 6 months on probation and up to $500 in fines. Criminal convictions carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record, even if the conviction was for a misdemeanor.
If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with disorderly intoxication in Florida then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.