If you have been charged with carrying a concealed firearm, then you may have a defense. Having a concealed weapons permit, being in your home or lack of knowledge are defenses that are oftentimes successful when fighting a carrying a concealed firearm case. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about the lack of knowledge defense, or if you want to speak to a lawyer about how to beat your carrying a concealed firearm case in Florida, contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.
Carrying a concealed firearm in Florida is defined under Florida Statute 790.01(2). A person commits the crime of carrying a concealed firearm when they knowingly carry, on or about their person, a firearm that is concealed from the ordinary sight of another person without a valid license to carry a concealed firearm.
Carrying a concealed firearm is a third-degree felony, meaning you can be sentenced to up to 5 years in prison, or up to 5 years on probation and up to $5,000 in fines (you can also be sentenced to a jail or prison sentence followed by probation but the total length of the sentence cannot exceed 5 years).
Criminal convictions carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record. If you are convicted of a felony you will lose your right to vote, your right to own firearms, and your ability to maintain certain business licenses. You can also lose your ability to receive financial aid, your ability to live in certain places and your ability to obtain a passport.
If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with carrying a concealed firearm in Florida then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.