If you have been charged with assault then you may have a defense. Self-defense, conditional threat, idle threat and unreasonable fear are all defenses that can be presented when fighting an assault case. Even if you don’t think you have a defense, you should always speak to an attorney to make sure you have a full understanding of how the law applies specifically to your case. If you want to know more about how to beat your assault case in Florida, contact Attorney Williams now for a free consultation.
In Florida, assault is defined as an intentional and unlawful threat against another person, coupled with the apparent ability to carry out the threat, which creates a genuine and reasonable fear that violence or harm is imminent under Florida Statute 784.011.
Assault is a second-degree misdemeanor, meaning it is punishable by up to 60 days in jail, or 6 months of probation and a $500 fine (you can also get a jail sentence followed by probation, but the total length of the punishment cannot exceed 6 months). In addition to facing jail time, if you are adjudicated guilty of assault then you will never be able to remove the conviction from your permanent record.
It’s also important to know if the victim in the case is a law enforcement officer, firefighter or EMT, then the charge will be reclassified from second-degree misdemeanor to a first-degree misdemeanor, meaning it will be punishable by up to one year rather than six months.
Criminal convictions carry severe consequences and can never be removed from your criminal record. If you need an attorney who will advise you, fight for your rights, and do everything possible to protect your future, or if someone you know has been charged with assault in Florida then contact Matthew Williams now for a free consultation.